Chamber, Girls Inc. prepare for Athena Award event

The Greater Owensboro Chamber of Commerce and Girls Incorporated will again be presenting the prestigious ATHENA Award to an individual in the Owensboro community.

This award is presented to someone who has attained and personified the highest level of professional excellence in their business or profession; has devoted time and energy to the community in a meaningful way; and has generously assisted women in attaining their full potential.

“We are so excited about the approaching ATHENA awards luncheon and getting the opportunity to highlight so many outstanding women,” said Tish Correa-Osborne, chief executive officer of Girls Inc. “These women, that can be nominated by virtually anyone in the community, not only excel personally and professionally, but are extraordinary because of what they do to help other girls and women succeed.”

The ATHENA recipient will be selected from nominations and supporting documentation. Correa-Osborne is asking the community for help in identifying potential recipients.

“Within your organization there are undoubtedly some individuals who are outstanding professional and community leaders who have had positive impact on women. Or you may know of someone through your personal or professional contacts,” Correa-Osborne said. “We urge you to use this nomination form to let us know who they are.

Deadline for nominations was Dec. 20 and the award ceremony is set for Feb. 27.

“We find that so many incredible women are so humble and do not like recognition,” Correa-Osborne said. “The community can help get their amazing stories told by getting nominations turned in and packets filled out!”

Through this program, the Chamber and Girls Inc. hope to build awareness of and honor the valuable contributions being made by men and women in our community. Past recipients include: Susan Montalvo-Gesser, Lamone Mayfield, Jean Wells, Brenda Clayton, Debbie Nunley, Helen Sears, Jane Noble, Martha Clark, Marianne Smith Edge, Jacqueline Addington, Vicki Stogsdill, Ursuline Sisters, Virginia Braswell, Patti Rayburn, Cherri Lolley, Helen Mountjoy, Margaret Britton, Deborah Fillman, Aloma Dew, Kathyrn Raymer and Cindy Fiorella.

By: The Owensboro Times