Leadership Owensboro selects 31

The Greater Owensboro Chamber of Commerce has selected 31 people for its Leadership Owensboro Class of 2018.

Candance Brake, chamber president, called it “a strong group.”

“Owensboro continues to grow leaders who are interested in contributing to our community and making a difference,” she said.

Jessica Kirk, executive director of Leadership Owensboro, said she was “excited about the quality pool of applicants we received.”

More than 1,000 people have graduated from Leadership Owensboro since it began in 1982.

The program includes nine full-day sessions from September through April on such topics as education, human needs and services, local government issues, crime, arts, tourism and health care.

Class members are required to participate in local civic leadership meetings and work as a team to come up with a solution to a community challenge.

A trip to Frankfort in February will give them a chance to meet state legislators and lobby for Owensboro priorities.

The class, which was introduced at Thursday’s Rooster Booster Breakfast, will begin with a retreat on Sept. 28-29.

Members include:

Tara Boling, Matthew 25 AIDS Services, Inc.; Lindsey Boone, Daviess County Cooperative Extension Service; Emily Cadiz, Hospice of Western Kentucky; Steven Caudill, U.S. Bank; Melissa Evans, Owensboro Metropolitan Planning Commission; Rachael Faulkner, U.S. Bank Home Mortgage; Shari Flagg, Estes Elementary School.

Sara Fleischmann, Riney Hancock CPAs PSC; Chris Gendek, Owensboro Courtyard Marrriot; Karen Glenn, First Security Bank; Jaclyn Graves, Greater Owensboro Chamber of Commerce; Lauren Greenwell, Myriad CPA Group; Will Higdon, Van Meter Insurance Group; Lori Hoagland, UniFirst Corp.; Sgt. Adam Johnston, Owensboro Police Department;

Dr. Jeremy Luckett, Vineyard Primary Care; Brooklyn Maple, Kentucky Legend; Brad Moore, Kentucky Wesleyan College; Tori Morgan, Beltline Electric; Britney O’Bryan, MPD Inc.; Lauren Osowicz, Brescia University; Amanda Owen, Puzzle Pieces; Harry Pedigo, St. Benedict’s shelter; Dan Reeves, U.S. Bank; Matthew Thompson, Owensboro Municipal Utilities;

Scott Tucker, Independence Bank; Lee Underwood, WKU-Owensboro; Mario Vizuet, Old National Bank; Erin Waller, Daviess County Public Library; Detective Brad Youngman, Daviess County Sheriff’s Office; and Emily Zoglmann, Owensboro Daviess County Convention & Visitors Bureau.

By Keith Lawrence